Soldiers Surf - SUP Trashed my board

Usual Surf Chat

Moderator: windybeach

danielsatch

Soldiers Surf - SUP Trashed my board

Postby danielsatch » Sun Nov 08, 2015 11:06 pm

Hey there...

On Saturday 7th November at Soldiers on the pushing tide a guy trashed my pride and joy: My Ben Skinner longboard which is less than 6months old! I usually take my other raggedy old longboard out at this break because of it being a minefield but on this occasion my friend was using her.

There were a lot of different watercraft out that day, SUP's, Kayak's and surfer's and I noticed that there were at least 2-3 SUP'ers who really should not have been there with their experience. I'm no pro surfer but some of these guys could not even hold a conversation without falling off and that really is not good in such a cramped one wave line-up.

After taking off on a wave close to the wall, I passed a guy on a SUP who was attempting to get over the crest of the wave. I was at least 6ft away from him as I passed him on my left side. As I looked back on the wave he was no where to be seen and suddenly his SUP popped up and his central fin missed my foot by millimetres and punched a nasty hole in my brand new board. I confronted the guy after and he said he didn't know it had happened...! To be honest we all make mistakes but this wave was like knee high and by the time his fin hit my board his leash must have been fully extended, so I was a good 9ft away when it struck.
Its left me very frustrated to be honest, I don't like to bitch and moan and I have had a couple of close calls myself but this board cost me like £1200 and a lot of saving and I'm left feeling gutted.
I spoke to Shaun Haddock this morning and I have left the board in his capable hands to repair. I'm just a bit pissed off to be honest and out of pocket through no fault of my own.

The guy was in his 30's, short dark hair and on a SUP which was predominantly white and had a red band around the edge.